Sam Smith / In The Lonely Hour

London-based singer-songwriter Sam Smith of Disclosure‘s “Latch” fame has released his debut album In The Lonely Hour via Capitol Records. Although the album is full of ballads like “Like I Can” and his lead single “Lay Me Down”, Smith doesn’t steer too far from his up-tempo fame with tracks like his second single “Money on My Mind”.

A deluxe edition of the album contains five bonus tracks, which includes an acoustic version of Disclosure’s single “Latch” and Naughty Boy’s “La La La”.

In the Lonely Hour is meant to be Smith’s love letter to a man who never returned his feelings. Smith told Fader that the album “is about a guy that I fell in love with last year, and he didn’t love me back.”

It’s about a guy and that’s what I wanted people to know – I want to be clear that that’s what it’s about. I want to make it a normality because this is a non-issue. People wouldn’t ask a straight person these questions. I’ve tried to be clever with this album, because it’s also important to me that my music reaches everybody. I’ve made my music so that it could be about anything and everybody – whether it’s a guy, a female or a goat – and everybody can relate to that.

Sam Smith’s In The Lonely Hour was produced and co-written by Fraser T Smith, Two Inch Punch, Simon Aldred and Eg White. The album is currently available for purchase.

Money on My Mind

Lay Me Down (Live on SNL)

Stay With Me

EXTRA
Latch – Disclosure feat. Sam Smith

La La La – Naughty Boy feat. Sam Smith

Leave a Reply

